Patient Reviews

Our Reviews

When choosing an eye doctor for you and your family, you should accept no less than the best. We encourage you to read through the reviews and testimonials from our patients. At The Eye Center of Central PA, we pride ourselves on our reputation. Our team of board-certified ophthalmologists and talented optometrists, physician assistant, and office staff enjoy hearing your feedback and strive to always provide the best care, service, and compassion to each and every patient.

Filter21 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 14, 2020

Excellent surgeon More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 02, 2020

The very best in the state of PA. Saved my sight. Would not trust anyone else with my vision. Great Surgeon and took less than an hour from the time I check in until the time my wife and I walked out. Love the staff in Allenwood. They make this easy. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 14, 2020

Excellent surgeon More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Y.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 05, 2019

I couldn't be happier with the results I have had with The Eye Center of Central PA and Dr. Hartzell. This is the only place I've gone for vision care for between 15 and 20 years. In the past year I had an enhancement done to one eye and my vision is excellent, I couldn't be any happier. The staff is friendly and always answers any question I ask. The wait time is normal. I highly recommend The Center of Central PA. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Y.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 31, 2019

I couldn't be happier with the results I have had with The Eye Center of Central PA and Dr. Hartzell. This is the only place I've gone for vision care for between 15 and 20 years. In the past year I had an enhancement done to one eye and my vision is excellent, I couldn't be any happier. The staff is friendly and always answers any question I ask. The wait time is normal. I highly recommend The Center of Central PA and Dr. Hartzell. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 17, 2019

Dr. Hartzell and staff were outstanding. My procedure was explained thoroughly and my questions answered without hesitation. Very satisfied at every level. Thank you for the excellent care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.G.  |  Source: Google  |  May 05, 2019

I recently had cataract surgery done by Dr. Hartzell . I worried about the procedure and how it would affect my eye sight. Turned out Dr. Hartzell did an excellent job and now I only need glasses to read. I no longer have to wear my Rx. glasses after so many years. The staff that he has at both Allenwood and Williamsport are by far the nicest medical staff I ever had, in particular Lydia. My wife and I both had surgery and Lydia made everything so easy for us. We owe her a special thank-you for all her hard work and compassion she showed us. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 23, 2019

Dr. Hartzell is a miracle worker as far as I'm concerned! In just 2 years my eye sight had gotten extremely bad. I couldn't read anything without glasses. I wanted lasik surgery to eliminate glasses and correct my bad vision. My night vision was also terrible, it was like everyone had their high beams on. After my eye exam I found out I had cataracts. I never expected that! I was very scared about surgery. Every one there was so kind and professional. Dr. Hartzell removed the cataracts and my sight is unbelievable!!! I actually read my fortune cookie at PF Changs and amazed my family. I would encourage anyone thinking eye surgery to call the Eye Center and ask for Dr. Hartzell! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 05, 2019

Having cataracts in both of my eyes had affected my vision over time so much that it was hard to do anything in my daily life. It was also getting very bad driving at night from all the bright lights affecting my vision even more going to and from work. A friend had recommended this eye center so we called and made an appointment and met with Dr. Hartzell. He explained what was going on with my eyes and we began preparations for my surgery. The entire staff was very helpful through the whole process and made things go smoothly. Both surgeries went very well and my sight had improved so much just after 24 hours and kept getting better! Thank you to the great staff for being so helpful and special thanks to Dr. Hartzell for removing my clouded vision and bringing back the wonderful colors and sight back into my life! I can now see very clearly with no issues!Thank you,Iba C. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2019

Having cataracts in both of my eyes had affected my vision over time so much that it was hard to do anything in my daily life. It was also getting very bad driving at night from all the bright lights affecting my vision even more going to and from work. A friend had recommended this eye center so we called and made an appointment and met with Dr. Hartzell. He explained what was going on with my eyes and we began preparations for my surgery. The entire staff was very helpful through the whole process and made things go smoothly. Both surgeries went very well and my sight had improved so much just after 24 hours and kept getting better! Thank you to the great staff for being so helpful and special thanks to Dr. Hartzell for removing my clouded vision and bringing back the wonderful colors and sight back into my life! I can now see very clearly with no issues! Thank you, Iba C. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 20, 2019

I have absolutely no complaints about the treatments and the office visits with Dr. Hartzell. I have always been treated very well and very professionally. The cataract surgery went great, and Dr. Hartzell reviewed everything very thoroughly. I'm very happy with the treatment I received at the Eye Center of Central PA. I would recommend him to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2018

When I arrived at the Eye Center in Lewisburg, I received a thorough exam and then met with Dr. Hartzell. At that time, I had uncorrected vision of 20/400 (that's legally blind) with cataracts that further diminished my vision. Due to three prior retina tears, Dr. Hartzell outlined what he thought would be the safest plan for me. I met with several technicians after that who went over in detail exactly every step in a three month program - and I received a book with information and phone numbers and a precise schedule. Through the measurements, left and right eye surgeries and weekly follow up appointments, I have been met with helpful and courteous people who exhibited the highest level of caring and professionalism. As I type this review, I don't know where my glasses are - my last test had my uncorrected vision at 20/15. I can look at a flower and see individual petals and vivid colors. I can look at my dog and see details in his face I've never seen before. How important is your vision? At the Eye Center, they are giving people sight - it's not like rating a coffee shop. These few paragraphs cannot express how grateful I am. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.Z.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 05, 2018

I love this practice! Dr Hartzell and his staff are excellent. I don't have to wear glasses for the first time in 20 years. The follow up to my surgery was first class. I have never had to wait and their staff has always been courteous and professional. I am taking my 87 year old mother there this week. I recommend them to all my family and friends who need eye care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 05, 2018

When I arrived at the Eye Center in Lewisburg, I received a thorough exam and then met with Dr. Hartzell. At that time, I had uncorrected vision of 20/400 (that's legally blind) with cataracts that further diminished my vision. Due to three prior retina tears, Dr. Hartzell outlined what he thought would be the safest plan for me. I met with several technicians after that who went over in detail exactly every step in a three month program - and I received a book with information and phone numbers and a precise schedule. Through the measurements, left and right eye surgeries and weekly follow up appointments, I have been met with helpful and courteous people who exhibited the highest level of caring and professionalism.As I type this review, I don't know where my glasses are - my last test had my uncorrected vision at 20/15. I can look at a flower and see individual petals and vivid colors. I can look at my dog and see details in his face I've never seen before. How important is your vision? At the Eye Center, they are giving people sight - it's not like rating a coffee shop.These few paragraphs cannot express how grateful I am. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 05, 2018

When I came to the Eye Center of Central PA in 2016, it was a scary situation. I am a graphic artist by trade, so I need my eyes to earn a living. Both of my eyes were failing due to very aggressive cataracts... My vision turned so poor, so quickly that I could no longer drive, read a magazine or use a computer! Even something as simple as watching TV had become nearly impossible. My entire world was a blur, like looking through Saran Wrap. Dr. Hartzell and his entire staff were very assuring, comforting and confident their procedures would help me. Every step of the way they were efficient, organized and completely professional. Their cheerful demeanor before and during my surgeries, and at every follow-up appointment since, has proven I made the right choice for my eye care.The results? For the first time in 50 years, I no longer need glasses! Waking up each day with nearly perfect vision (20/25) is a true blessing in every way. My wife and I thank Dr. Hartzell, his nurses and staff for all their compassionate assistance and care. — James & Lori Wittlich More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 25, 2017

Had Raindrop surgery, was totally straightforward with procedure and expectations of the outcome. Only 5 days since surgery and I have not had to reach for my "cheaters" once since Friday. Outcome for me thus far is actually better than was described to me prior to surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 22, 2017

I had LASIK surgery with Dr. Hartzell and it was perfect. He explains the procedure, and his staff makes the whole process easy. I was thinking of going out of the area, but I'm glad I chose Dr. Hartzell. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 06, 2017

Went for a free consultation and all procedures and options were explained and my questions were answered. Best option was recommended but there was no "high pressure". Yesterday was surgery day for my first eye and today is the first time in forever I am working without glasses. Very pleased with Dr. Hartzell and his staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2017

When I came to the Eye Center of Central PA in 2016, it was a scary situation. I am a graphic artist by trade, so I need my eyes to earn a living. Both of my eyes were failing due to very aggressive cataracts... My vision turned so poor, so quickly that I could no longer drive, read a magazine or use a computer! Even something as simple as watching TV had become nearly impossible. My entire world was a blur, like looking through Saran Wrap. Dr. Hartzell and his entire staff were very assuring, comforting and confident their procedures would help me. Every step of the way they were efficient, organized and completely professional. Their cheerful demeanor before and during my surgeries, and at every follow-up appointment since, has proven I made the right choice for my eye care. The results? For the first time in 50 years, I no longer need glasses! Waking up each day with nearly perfect vision (20/25) is a true blessing in every way. My wife and I thank Dr. Hartzell, his nurses and staff for all their compassionate assistance and care. — James & Lori Wittlich More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.W.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 15, 2017

Dr. Hartzell and the staff at the Eye Center have been wonderful throughout my eye treatment. Dr. Hartzell had previously performed successful surgery on my son so I knew I could count on excellent care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 18, 2016

Very personable. Education was health literate and he discussed all possible options for treatment. Great skill level. Have and will continue to recommended him to family and friends. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.