Patient Reviews

Reviews for The Eye Center of Central PA

Our Reviews

When choosing an eye doctor for you and your family, you should accept no less than the best. We encourage you to read through the reviews and testimonials from our patients. At The Eye Center of Central PA, we pride ourselves on our reputation. Our team of board-certified ophthalmologists and talented optometrists, physician assistant, and office staff enjoy hearing your feedback and strive to always provide the best care, service, and compassion to each and every patient.

Filter57 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from L.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 18, 2020

My Eye Center visit hit a glitch. It was taken care of in a quick professional manner. Dr Gonzales is knowledgeable, quick and very positive. Kudos to C. Yingling in the Optical Shop!!! Excellent Customer Service!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 06, 2020

I have been getting my eye care here for 17 years. I’ve had great experiences. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 04, 2020

My visit was due to cataracts.I can't begin to explain how elated I am that I was referred to him.Very patient and knowledgeable.He knew what my issues were and I did not have to say much.His staff was very professional and made me feel at ease.I had my surgery and I couldn't be happier.I would definitely refer Dr. Ou. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 01, 2020

The crew at this office is great. Very attentive and efficient. Dr. Hensel is down to earth and knows his stuff. So happy with my new multifocal contacts. I can now see near and far without glasses!!! 👍 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 14, 2020

Excellent surgeon More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 02, 2020

The very best in the state of PA. Saved my sight. Would not trust anyone else with my vision. Great Surgeon and took less than an hour from the time I check in until the time my wife and I walked out. Love the staff in Allenwood. They make this easy. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 01, 2020

Always have wonderful experiences at the Eye Center of Central Pa! Staff are very friendly and accommodating, and Dr Jerry Hensel is very knowledgeable!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 19, 2020

I started to see Dr. Hensel years ago when he was employed by another company. I followed him to The Eye Center as he was always thorough and courteous. I have been very happy with the care I have received from this office and plan to continue to be a patient. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 14, 2020

Excellent surgeon More

4.0
DAPI
Review from S.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 15, 2020

Was in the surgery center side of building. My son had to have a procedure with his ears. Very nice people for the most part. My son was still trying to wake up from being put out. I felt a little pushed to hurry up and get him out. Other than that, great place with caring people- for the most part More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 05, 2019

Came here for my eye and contact lens exam and my 5 yo son’s first eye exam. Dr Bonner was fantastic and so were all of the staff. My son actually had fun and didn’t worry a bit. I’m one of “those” that hates anyone messing around near my eyes and he was so great, I really wasn’t uncomfortable. Had to bring my glasses back, after my 2 yo tried to clean them for me and bent them into the strangest shape. The technician had no problem fixing what I was sure was unfixable. It’s been 2 months and they’re still holding strong. Only thing that stinks about this location is there minimal hours. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from G.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 05, 2019

I have had excellent care from Dr. Walmer and the staff for years. On one occasion I needed a same day apt and this was accommodated. I do agree that after 11AM the wait times are quite long, but the care is excellent! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 09, 2019

The optometrists are very friendly and they go through a lot of questions to make sure you're getting the correct eye care. They work with a lot of insurances. Their products are good. My only complaint is the lady who works in the glasses part is not always very friendly. Also, my glasses got scratched and they are supposed to be scratch resistant, so I called because they are under warranty and had a lot of trouble getting replacements. This part was ridiculous. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 05, 2019

Excellent! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 04, 2019

Courteous, respectful staff! Dr. Henzel is terrific! He quickly diagnosed an eye infection and issue with my previous prescription when I started coming to this office years ago. I haven't gone anywhere else since then! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Y.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 05, 2019

I couldn't be happier with the results I have had with The Eye Center of Central PA and Dr. Hartzell. This is the only place I've gone for vision care for between 15 and 20 years. In the past year I had an enhancement done to one eye and my vision is excellent, I couldn't be any happier. The staff is friendly and always answers any question I ask. The wait time is normal. I highly recommend The Center of Central PA. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Y.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 31, 2019

I couldn't be happier with the results I have had with The Eye Center of Central PA and Dr. Hartzell. This is the only place I've gone for vision care for between 15 and 20 years. In the past year I had an enhancement done to one eye and my vision is excellent, I couldn't be any happier. The staff is friendly and always answers any question I ask. The wait time is normal. I highly recommend The Center of Central PA and Dr. Hartzell. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 17, 2019

Dr. Hartzell and staff were outstanding. My procedure was explained thoroughly and my questions answered without hesitation. Very satisfied at every level. Thank you for the excellent care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.H.  |  Source: Google  |  May 05, 2019

Dr. Bechtel is so nice and thorough, and Janice is so very nice and speaks very clearly so people can actually hear what is being said to them. Very much appreciated! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.G.  |  Source: Google  |  May 05, 2019

I recently had cataract surgery done by Dr. Hartzell . I worried about the procedure and how it would affect my eye sight. Turned out Dr. Hartzell did an excellent job and now I only need glasses to read. I no longer have to wear my Rx. glasses after so many years. The staff that he has at both Allenwood and Williamsport are by far the nicest medical staff I ever had, in particular Lydia. My wife and I both had surgery and Lydia made everything so easy for us. We owe her a special thank-you for all her hard work and compassion she showed us. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 23, 2019

Dr. Hartzell is a miracle worker as far as I'm concerned! In just 2 years my eye sight had gotten extremely bad. I couldn't read anything without glasses. I wanted lasik surgery to eliminate glasses and correct my bad vision. My night vision was also terrible, it was like everyone had their high beams on. After my eye exam I found out I had cataracts. I never expected that! I was very scared about surgery. Every one there was so kind and professional. Dr. Hartzell removed the cataracts and my sight is unbelievable!!! I actually read my fortune cookie at PF Changs and amazed my family. I would encourage anyone thinking eye surgery to call the Eye Center and ask for Dr. Hartzell! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 05, 2019

Having cataracts in both of my eyes had affected my vision over time so much that it was hard to do anything in my daily life. It was also getting very bad driving at night from all the bright lights affecting my vision even more going to and from work. A friend had recommended this eye center so we called and made an appointment and met with Dr. Hartzell. He explained what was going on with my eyes and we began preparations for my surgery. The entire staff was very helpful through the whole process and made things go smoothly. Both surgeries went very well and my sight had improved so much just after 24 hours and kept getting better! Thank you to the great staff for being so helpful and special thanks to Dr. Hartzell for removing my clouded vision and bringing back the wonderful colors and sight back into my life! I can now see very clearly with no issues!Thank you,Iba C. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2019

Having cataracts in both of my eyes had affected my vision over time so much that it was hard to do anything in my daily life. It was also getting very bad driving at night from all the bright lights affecting my vision even more going to and from work. A friend had recommended this eye center so we called and made an appointment and met with Dr. Hartzell. He explained what was going on with my eyes and we began preparations for my surgery. The entire staff was very helpful through the whole process and made things go smoothly. Both surgeries went very well and my sight had improved so much just after 24 hours and kept getting better! Thank you to the great staff for being so helpful and special thanks to Dr. Hartzell for removing my clouded vision and bringing back the wonderful colors and sight back into my life! I can now see very clearly with no issues! Thank you, Iba C. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 27, 2019

Dr.Bechtel is thorough, caring, personable and professional. I highly recommend him. A great staff in the office as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 20, 2019

I have absolutely no complaints about the treatments and the office visits with Dr. Hartzell. I have always been treated very well and very professionally. The cataract surgery went great, and Dr. Hartzell reviewed everything very thoroughly. I'm very happy with the treatment I received at the Eye Center of Central PA. I would recommend him to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 05, 2019

Everyone I came into contact with was super friendly. Especially the lady who helped me choose my glasses and make an affordable decision, I may have taken an hour of her time being so indecisive but she was very patient and very kind! They also have a great selection of premium eyewear. It was my first visit with them but happy with how it went. Would reccomend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 05, 2019

Exceptional care, phenomenal staff. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from W.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 05, 2019

Bonney in the optical shop was very helpful in assisting me to find the right pair of glasses. I’m very hard to fit but Bonney kept trying until we found the perfect frames. I would have given a 5-star rating but she made an error figuring the cost of my glasses. She called me to let me know but the glasses ended up being $100 more than she originally told me. Other than that, my experience has been great so far. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from L.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 05, 2019

Appointments run much more on time here More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.V.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 16, 2018

I found Dr.Ou to be the " Best ". I felt I was in good hands with him. Thank you Dr. OU , I can see a lot better now. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 14, 2018

So pleasant and caring! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 14, 2018

Every thing went so well. My vision id so much improved. Dr. Ou is very caring, excellent in his field and responsive to my concerns & questions. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 30, 2018

Extremely pleased with results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 30, 2018

Very professional and helpful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2018

When I arrived at the Eye Center in Lewisburg, I received a thorough exam and then met with Dr. Hartzell. At that time, I had uncorrected vision of 20/400 (that's legally blind) with cataracts that further diminished my vision. Due to three prior retina tears, Dr. Hartzell outlined what he thought would be the safest plan for me. I met with several technicians after that who went over in detail exactly every step in a three month program - and I received a book with information and phone numbers and a precise schedule. Through the measurements, left and right eye surgeries and weekly follow up appointments, I have been met with helpful and courteous people who exhibited the highest level of caring and professionalism. As I type this review, I don't know where my glasses are - my last test had my uncorrected vision at 20/15. I can look at a flower and see individual petals and vivid colors. I can look at my dog and see details in his face I've never seen before. How important is your vision? At the Eye Center, they are giving people sight - it's not like rating a coffee shop. These few paragraphs cannot express how grateful I am. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.Z.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 05, 2018

I love this practice! Dr Hartzell and his staff are excellent. I don't have to wear glasses for the first time in 20 years. The follow up to my surgery was first class. I have never had to wait and their staff has always been courteous and professional. I am taking my 87 year old mother there this week. I recommend them to all my family and friends who need eye care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 05, 2018

Always professional and helpful at the Bloomsburg office. Never had to wait more than 5-10 minutes to be seen. Dr is fantastic. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 05, 2018

When I came to the Eye Center of Central PA in 2016, it was a scary situation. I am a graphic artist by trade, so I need my eyes to earn a living. Both of my eyes were failing due to very aggressive cataracts... My vision turned so poor, so quickly that I could no longer drive, read a magazine or use a computer! Even something as simple as watching TV had become nearly impossible. My entire world was a blur, like looking through Saran Wrap. Dr. Hartzell and his entire staff were very assuring, comforting and confident their procedures would help me. Every step of the way they were efficient, organized and completely professional. Their cheerful demeanor before and during my surgeries, and at every follow-up appointment since, has proven I made the right choice for my eye care.The results? For the first time in 50 years, I no longer need glasses! Waking up each day with nearly perfect vision (20/25) is a true blessing in every way. My wife and I thank Dr. Hartzell, his nurses and staff for all their compassionate assistance and care. — James & Lori Wittlich More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 05, 2018

Not the quickest but never had an issue with them. My doctor was very nice she was awesome. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 05, 2018

When I arrived at the Eye Center in Lewisburg, I received a thorough exam and then met with Dr. Hartzell. At that time, I had uncorrected vision of 20/400 (that's legally blind) with cataracts that further diminished my vision. Due to three prior retina tears, Dr. Hartzell outlined what he thought would be the safest plan for me. I met with several technicians after that who went over in detail exactly every step in a three month program - and I received a book with information and phone numbers and a precise schedule. Through the measurements, left and right eye surgeries and weekly follow up appointments, I have been met with helpful and courteous people who exhibited the highest level of caring and professionalism.As I type this review, I don't know where my glasses are - my last test had my uncorrected vision at 20/15. I can look at a flower and see individual petals and vivid colors. I can look at my dog and see details in his face I've never seen before. How important is your vision? At the Eye Center, they are giving people sight - it's not like rating a coffee shop.These few paragraphs cannot express how grateful I am. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 06, 2018

Talk about seeing clearly again, colors are brilliant! Wow Thanks Doc. Jason Ou and all the staff at Fava & Maria excellent, excellent eye and patient care! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 06, 2017

I found Dr. Ou to be very personable and competent. His personality was very warm and you felt he really cared about you. his skills were excellent also. Would highly recommend him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 22, 2017

An excellent ophthalmologist! I went to Dr Ou for what I thought was macular degeneration but turned out to actually be a hole in the macula in my right eye. After examining my eyes and taking pictures of the retinas in both eyes, Dr Ou described my condition very clearly and answered my questions very knowledgeably. He is very personable and I would highly recommend him to family, friends and anyone looking for a good ophthalmologist. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 14, 2017

I am so impressed with my entire experience . Dr. Ou and his entire staff is excellent. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 17, 2017

My experience with Dr. Ou has been very positive. He has carefully explained what to expect and following surgery what the results were. I would definitely recommend him to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 09, 2017

Dr. Ou is an excellent eye care physician. He is very thorough, patient, and takes the time to explain all of his findings to you. He made me feel very comfortable and reassured during the whole exam. I will definitely be recommending him to my friends and family!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 25, 2017

Had Raindrop surgery, was totally straightforward with procedure and expectations of the outcome. Only 5 days since surgery and I have not had to reach for my "cheaters" once since Friday. Outcome for me thus far is actually better than was described to me prior to surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 22, 2017

I had LASIK surgery with Dr. Hartzell and it was perfect. He explains the procedure, and his staff makes the whole process easy. I was thinking of going out of the area, but I'm glad I chose Dr. Hartzell. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 06, 2017

Went for a free consultation and all procedures and options were explained and my questions were answered. Best option was recommended but there was no "high pressure". Yesterday was surgery day for my first eye and today is the first time in forever I am working without glasses. Very pleased with Dr. Hartzell and his staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2017

When I came to the Eye Center of Central PA in 2016, it was a scary situation. I am a graphic artist by trade, so I need my eyes to earn a living. Both of my eyes were failing due to very aggressive cataracts... My vision turned so poor, so quickly that I could no longer drive, read a magazine or use a computer! Even something as simple as watching TV had become nearly impossible. My entire world was a blur, like looking through Saran Wrap. Dr. Hartzell and his entire staff were very assuring, comforting and confident their procedures would help me. Every step of the way they were efficient, organized and completely professional. Their cheerful demeanor before and during my surgeries, and at every follow-up appointment since, has proven I made the right choice for my eye care. The results? For the first time in 50 years, I no longer need glasses! Waking up each day with nearly perfect vision (20/25) is a true blessing in every way. My wife and I thank Dr. Hartzell, his nurses and staff for all their compassionate assistance and care. — James & Lori Wittlich More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2017

I absolutely love coming to this place! The Optometrist is super sweet and kind. When calling the number, the number is a little confusing- the person whom always answer is very rude when I would ask basic questions. Overall, the experience over at the area is great! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.W.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 15, 2017

Dr. Hartzell and the staff at the Eye Center have been wonderful throughout my eye treatment. Dr. Hartzell had previously performed successful surgery on my son so I knew I could count on excellent care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 05, 2017

Courteous Staff More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 05, 2017

Very professional from the Eye Doctors through all the staff. You can tell they did this before. Great experience. I have a condition in my one eye that requires a visit every 6 months. I have always been impressed with the care I received. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 05, 2017

I absolutely love coming to this place! The Optometrist is super sweet and kind. When calling the number, the number is a little confusing- the person whom always answer is very rude when I would ask basic questions. Overall, the experience over at the area is great! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 18, 2016

Very personable. Education was health literate and he discussed all possible options for treatment. Great skill level. Have and will continue to recommended him to family and friends. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 05, 2014

Polite n Courtesy really good staff More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.